The power of girlfriends

Tonight was a tough night for me. I am currently working on putting together my own routine for my pole class, and although I feel like it is finally coming together, I have been fighting with a nagging shoulder injury for a couple of weeks. These classes are so important to me, and help me stay grounded and healthy, and I am so scared that I am going to get really hurt and not be able to do it for a while.

I have mentioned before how I think that they make me a better person, a better wife, and a better mum. This is my safe place, my place where I can go and let it all out, knowing that I am surrounded by a group of women who will love and support me no matter what. To me, that is a crazy feeling, and one that is not easily found in our every day world.

When I got hurt again tonight, my friends were there to help, and soothe, and hold a cold water bottle against my shoulder. 20 minutes later, they were cheering me on as I pushed myself to run through the routine one more time. I sometimes think that I am so lucky to belong to a place so real and pure, where there is no jealousy, no resentment, no judgement. I only wish that the “real world” could be more like my studio.

On the weekend, one of my girlfriends celebrated her birthday. When she spoke about the impact that we had all had on her life, and mentioned how she had never really been able to relate to women or had close girlfriends, heads were nodding all around the table. Somehow, this group of women have been brought together and as a group, we are learning how to support and relate to one another. I think that this is something that we could all use. Thought this, we are learning to bring this into the world with us, and spread the love to those around us.

The power of girlfriends is amazing, and one that I wish that all women could know. There is nothing more special to know that you are loved for who you are inside, nothing more, nothing less.

About onecrazykid

Singing, dancing, and laughing through motherhood (and life in general) is how Brandee thought things would be when she found out she was pregnant. In reality though, as a wife to, and mum of, two crazy and amazing dudes, she often finds herself laughing at fart jokes and dancing through sword fights. Brandee likes to approach life in a straight-up way with honesty, a sense of humor, and lots of sass. She blogs about the good, the bad, and the real when it comes to life, love, and everything in between at onecrazykid.com. You can also keep up with the antics of the One Crazy family on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun stuff, pole, rambles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The power of girlfriends

  1. I agree. Even virtual girlfriends are great. Thank you for being mine πŸ™‚

    • onecrazykid says:

      I completely agree. I really don’t differentiate between virtual and in person ones anymore either. Friends are friends, in my book, and I’m happy to count you among mine. πŸ™‚

  2. Amen to that girlie! I don’t know what we’d do without them! x

    • onecrazykid says:

      There is just something about the power of friendships with other awesome women that can’t quite be out into words, isn’t there? Thanks for popping by! πŸ™‚

  3. Sharon says:

    Mu girlfriends are my lifeline. I’m not sure what I would do without them.
    Go get your shoulder checked – that’s one of those things that could spiral into something more if you don’t get it looked at.

    • onecrazykid says:

      It is really amazing to me. I’ve had girlfriends before, but somehow, this seems different. It’s pretty awesome actually. I found it ally difficult to make any real, lasting girlfriend relationships past my early 20’s. There have been exceptions, obviously, but I finally feel like I found that piece that I was missing. It makes me happy that others feel the same way, you know?

      And about the shoulder? I did end up getting it checked and the verdict is not great. Looks like tendinitis in the rotator cuff, deltoid and bicep. So basically, I’m kind of screwed for a while. Needless to say, I’m having a bit of a pity party for myself right now. Boo.

Leave a comment