Things motherhood has taught me

Seeing as how today is Mothers Day, Stasha decided that we could make a list of anything we wanted about motherhood, or 10 things we wish we could delete for Monday Listicles.  I decided to do mine about motherhood, since I don’t know if I really want to publish my list of deletables. ;)

Some things I have learned from being a mum:

1. Sometimes things don’t turn out the way you planned, but that’s ok.  I never thought that I would have a 4 pound, 11 ounce baby who spent the first week and a half of his life in the NICU.  You roll with it.

2. It’s good to be flexible, both literally and figuratively.  You never know when you are going to have to contort under a table to retrieve a kid, or a book, or who knows what else…

3. Sometimes you just need take a moment to breathe, look around, and realize how much fun you are actually having.

4. Bodily fluids are gross. (Actually, this one I knew before, but this has just cemented it for me.)  Needless to say, I am not the mum who can catch kid-puke with my hands.  That’s what blankets are for.

5.  Kids are very resilient.  They can take a bump, get bruised, and just keep going.

6.  Sometimes the things that you thought that you would do, or not do, are the things that work best for your family.  Before Q came along, I had very distinct ideas of how things would go.  I never thought that I would be an extended breastfeeder, co-sleeper, or most of the other things that I have done. You just need to go with what works.

7.  It’s ok to be yourself sometimes too.  You are not just a mum, you are still a person.  It took me a while to figure that out, but I am a better person for it.  No mummy guilt.

8. How much fun it would be to experience things with him.  The utter joy and excitement that he brings is something that I never could have imagined.

9.  How great it would be to teach him things, and share my favourite things with him.  He loves music, likes to take a spin on the pole, and loves to read.  This makes me proud.

10. Just how full of love my heart is for him, and the family that we’ve created and become.

Any lessons learned that you would care to share?

This entry was posted in family, fun stuff, kids, Monday Listicles, parenting, pictures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Things motherhood has taught me

  1. Ado says:

    Oh I love “roll with it” (YOU sure did!) and I love “sometimes you just need to breathe, look around, and notice how much fun you’re having.” This is really important! (-:

    • onecrazykid says:

      Thanks! I agree, I think that in the midst of tantrums, craziness and all the other things that go along with parenthood, we forget. And I never want to forget. :)

  2. paul says:

    Great list. Love the pics. 4 made me LOL Hope you had a great Mother’s Day.

    • onecrazykid says:

      Thanks Paul. The pics are a couple that I snapped when we took the little man to his first hockey game a few weeks ago. I did have a great Mothers Day, thank you. :)

  3. I like the being yourself bit. So important! Happy Mother’s day B!

  4. christina says:

    love this list. :)

  5. suzy016 says:

    ha! fliexibility has served me well on many occasions – most recently when retrieving matchbox cars and one wee toddler from underneath airplane seats (for two hours) (and then another two hours) (i’m a little tired). loved this list, totally agree that just going with what works best is the way to go. happy (late) mother’s day!

  6. Great list! And you are so right, it’s easy to get totally absorbed and then feel guilty when we need a break. But there shouldn’t be that guilt, we all deserve some “me time”.

  7. Yoli says:

    Yeah, I don’t think I’d be the mom to catch kid vomit in my hand either! lol

  8. Being yourself. Sometimes, we are so concerned about how being telling our kids what to do that we forget to just be ourselves and let them learn by watching us. Don’t you think so? Great reminder!

  9. I LOVE it! And I totally agree with a blanket! I could never catch puke with my hands!

  10. Boy…I can relate to most things on your list. Especially numbers 4 (I don’t do the kid-puke hand thing either) and 6 (“You just need to go with what works” – Amen to that!)

    Oh yea…you have a real cutie too! :D

  11. Love that flexibility comment :) This is a great list!

  12. ihmark says:

    Your little man is so big! When did he get so big? I hear ya about the bodily fluids, but I think I did catch his puke once. He’s also really into giving me the big green boogers (has some runny nose).

    But, what if nothing works?

  13. #3 might be the very best advice ever!

Leave a Reply

