Gymnastics and other Saturday rituals

Saturdays are a special day to me.  Every Saturday, with the exception of a few months in the summer, Q has his gymnastics class.  He has been going on Saturday mornings for almost as long he’s been going to gymnastics, which is over 2 years now.  This summer, he graduated from the parent and tot class to the 3 year old independent class, which means that I no longer have to get to participate in the class, and now get to spend 45 minutes watching on the sidelines.  I love watching him, actually, he loves doing gymnastics so much, and it’s so funny to watch him.  He treats every station like it’s a timed obstacle course, much to the chagrin of the other kids who are not as fast through the stations as he is.

After gymnastics on Saturdays, he and I have a ritual.  We always go to Starbucks for some quality time together, time that is very precious to me.  I always feel like I don’t get to spend enough time with him, as I work full time during the week.  So I really try to cherish the time that we do get to spend together, as sometimes I look at him and wonder, how did this little person, this little boy, get to be so big?  It seems like just a few months ago that he was my tiny little baby,  and here he is, now 3 and no longer a baby but a boy.  Sometimes I just want to wrap him up in my arms, hug him tight and keep him at the age where I am still his favourite person, the person who can right all of the wrongs of the world with a cuddle and a kiss, and the one he wants to spend time with.  Sadly, I know I can’t do that, so I need to enjoy the time we have now.

At Starbucks, we get our drinks, usually some kind of fancy latte for me and an apple juice or milk for him, along with our snacks, which for him is almost always a slice of banana bread.  We sit, and talk, or read a book that we’ve brought in with us from the car. We talk about his gymnastics class, and what he is learning at school.  It is our time to reconnect with each other after a busy week of work, and school, and life.  There have been a few days when we haven’t been able to go, for one reason or another, and when we don’t, I feel sad.  I miss spending time with my boy, and getting to know him.  So I try to make it, and him, my Saturday morning priority.  Because I can, and because it is important to me.

Saturday morning Starbucks

 

Banana bread anyone?

Say cheese!

Do you have any special rituals that you have with your kids, significant other or friends? If not, I would highly recommend starting one – it’s not something that you will regret.

This entry was posted in family, fun stuff, kids, pictures, rambles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gymnastics and other Saturday rituals

  1. Amanda says:

    I love the special rituals! I still remember my Saturday ritual with my dad. Lilah and I have a couple too!

Leave a Reply

