Hug your kids

Today, I learned that the 16 month old son of a co-worker lost his long battle with cancer earlier this month.  My first thought was that I wanted to hug my little man and never let him go.  My second thought was how could this happen?  What kind of world is this where a 16 month old baby has to suffer from cancer?  And where two parents have to say goodbye to their son when they have only just started to know him?

I guess that you never know what is going to happen, and so it’s important to make the most of each and every day.  I cannot imagine what it would feel like to lose my child, and just the thought of it brings me to tears.  My heart, love and prayers go out to the family of the little boy.  It is just so unfair that a parent has to bury their child, let alone a baby.  The firsts that they will never get to experience together breaks my heart.  That they will never get to see him grow up, walk, talk and go to school is a devastating thought. As a parent, my heart hurts so much for them that I can barely find the words.  Even though I didn’t know them well, as I only work with the dad, my heart goes out to them at this horrible time.  I wish for a world where no one has to suffer, and cancer is a bad memory of the past.

So I ask you – please, hug your kids, and your partner, and anyone else that you care about tonight.  Tell them you love and cherish them, and really mean it, and enjoy every single second that you have together.

This entry was posted in blogging, rambles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hug your kids

  1. karmavore says:

    So sad. Poor family. Thanks for the reminder to cherish and appreciate what I have.

Leave a Reply

