Making memories

Tonight, the Q man and I had a special date.  We went to see Toy Story 3 on Ice after I took him out for a super fancy dinner at McDonald’s (his choice).  It was nice to get out, just the two of us, for something special and out of the ordinary, and we had a great time together.  It is just such fun hanging out with him now – he’s developing such a fun personality.  I had told him before that we were going to see Toy Story, and he was so excited at the thought, he could hardly contain himself!

When we arrived at the arena, got parked and raced inside ( much to my sick lungs’ displeasure, let me assure you), Mickey Mouse and his pals were already introducing the show.  Q saw them, and his eyes lit up.  It was awesome, he was practically glowing, and it had barely even started.  Toy Story is one of his current favourite movies right now, all 3 of them actually, so he knows all of the characters and the stories.  The show was neat because it combined elements of all 3 shows into one, all the while working it into the story of Toy Story 3.

Probably my favourite part of the night was watching the amazement and wonder on his face as each of his favourite characters came on to the ice.  He was enthralled as he watched them all skating around, and I could see his head and eyes following them all around.  He was SO into it.  At the intermission, we went for a walk to check out the souvenirs.  They were much more reasonably priced than I had thought they would be, so I let him pick out a couple things.  He chose stuffed Bullseye and a Rex, as well as a colouring book.  He also got a spinning light up Woody toy.  I paid less for the seats that I had thought that I would, so I was okay with spending a bit more on souvenirs. Hey, these are the things that he will remember someday, and it’s not a hardship for me to get them, so I thought I would treat him.  I was so proud of him – so many kids were demanding everything they saw, and throwing tantrums when they didn’t get it.  He asked for just a couple of small things, only the ones that he really wanted.  It makes me happy that it is not just about the material things with him, and hope that as he gets older, he is able to keep that.

I have awesome memories from when I was a kid, going to the Ice Capades with my family.  I know that my parents had to sacrifice to be able to take us to these shows, but they chose to do it anyways, and for that I will be forever grateful.  I want to be able to give those same sorts of experiences to Q.  They were so important to me growing up, and I would way rather give him memories than another toy.  I suffer from major mummy guilt sometimes, because I work full time and I don’t feel that I have enough time to give him.  It is important to me to be able to take him on these special outings once in a while, to just spend some quality time with him doing something fun.

I hope that these will be the things that he remembers when he is older, and has fond memories of our time together.  I know that I will.

Do you have any special things that you do with your kids to make memories? Or any fond memories from your childhood that you hope to be able to share with your family?  If so, I’d love to hear about them!

This entry was posted in family, fun stuff, kids, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making memories

  1. Marilyn @ A Lot of Loves says:

    Awesome! Sounds great. I’m hoping my kids do as well as Q.

Leave a Reply

