One word for 2012

It’s the first day of 2012, and although I know that I could make New Years Resolutions, I know that I won’t stick to them.  Instead, I am going to follow the lead of a number of people, including Amber at www.strocel.com, whom I’ve known for longer that I will admit to you, and come up with a word that I will try to live by for the next year.

Sound easy?  It wasn’t for me.  It’s been a big year for me, in some ways.  In other ways, it’s been pretty tough.  We’ve had a lot of challenges, but also a lot of fun.  I started doing pole fitness, which has given me back something that I lost a long time ago.  Confidence in myself.  It’s still a struggle, but now I don’t look at myself every single day with a negative thought.  Some days, yes, but not every day.  That is a big change for me.  I’ve struggled with self-confidence for as long as I can remember.  I’ve never been that girl who fit in easily, who was the pretty, popular girl that everyone loved.  I’ve never been a tiny girl, no matter how hard I tried, and the awful, stupid, extreme measures that I took.  I never looked like everyone else, dressed like everyone else, or listened to the same music as everyone else.  I know now that these are some of the things that make me who I am today, but it’s taken me a long time to come to that realization.

I’m pretty sure that I’ve said this before, but through pole, I’ve proven to myself that I don’t need to be a certain size to meet the expectations and goals that I set for myself.  I’ve shown myself, and maybe a few others along the way, that I am stronger and tougher than I realized, and that if I set my mind to something, no matter how hard it seems at first, I can do it.  I knew these things once, when I was in the Army, but they are lessons that are easy to forget.  At least they were for me.  Sometimes, I am able to get a glimpse of myself through the eyes of those around me.  Eyes that see me for who and what I am, not what I think I am.

This all translates into the rest of my life too.  I am less stressed as a wife and mother, and I have an outlet and a place that I know is just for me.  I am healthier, and physically stronger, more able to face obstacles as they appear in my path.  I am setting a good example for my son, who understands about exercise, and how it can be fun.  I don’t automatically jump to conclusions that I am wrong, or at fault, especially in cases where it is clearly not me.

I’m starting to believe.  In myself, and in others.

So that will be my word for 2012.  Believe.

I know that it’s not going to be easy.  I feel like I am setting myself up a bit, but that’s ok, I like a challenge.

Do you have any resolutions?  Or a word to live by this year?  I’d love to hear them.

Happy New Year, my friends, and thanks for joining me on this journey.

This entry was posted in body image, family, pole, rambles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One word for 2012

  1. Amber says:

    I almost went with “believe” for myself – it’s a GREAT word. And I believe in you.

    Happy New Year!

  2. That is a great word! Mine sort of came to me over the course of several weeks (if not more), and like everyone else’s does better with a little context. 😉

  3. Pingback: One Word to Set an Intention for the Year: Clarity | Crafting my Life

Leave a Reply

