Slowing down the crazy kid

My little guy is a very full-on, super energetic kid.  He is very intense, and everything is done and felt at 110%, be it running around, laughing loudly, or feeling sad.  He has always been this way, right from the very beginning.  If you don’t know him, he can seem a bit crazy, and sometimes a little bit wild, but he’s really just got some much spunk in him, it can be overwhelming at first.  Sometimes it can be hard to get him to listen, but I think that in part, that is because he is 3.  He’s not a brat, by any stretch of the imagination, and is never the kid running around the restaurant.  He is just the kid who wants to look at things, touch things, hear things everywhere he goes.

Sometimes, I wonder, as I watch him.  I wonder how he can have so much energy and enthusiasm for everything that he does.  I wonder if he will ever slow down, or if he will keep me on my toes for the rest of our lives.  I wonder if there is a way that I can reign him in, without squashing his spirit, enthusiasm and curiosity.  This is the big one for me.  I have never done any reading about “spirited kids”, but in my head, I imagine that if I did, I would see my son.  Don’t get me wrong, I love him dearly, and he is a lot of fun.  I just wonder sometimes if we need to try to slow him down.

When I think about that, though, it makes me kind of sad.  He is who he is, and I don’t want to change that.  I just wonder if he will have problems later on, because he can’t sit still or because he wants to learn about and explore everything in the room.  He loves to dance, and if there is music on, I honestly don’t think that he can help himself, especially when he really connects to the song.  His little body is always moving and bopping, and he sings and talks a LOT.  Sometimes too much.  When he is at gymnastics, for example, he runs the stations like he is running an army obstacle course.  He can do everything, and seems to have a natural athletic ability.  Where this causes some problems is that he doesn’t seem to quite understand that not everyone has the same ability as he does, and he seems to get kind of impatient with the kids that don’t do it as fast as he does.  He never gets mean, or pushes, or says anything, but sometimes he tries to bypass them and just go around.  We have tried explaining to him that not all the kids have been doing gymnastics as long as he has, and that they are learning.  I know that he would never do anything out of meanness, as I don’t think that he has a mean bone in his body.  He just wants to GO.

I struggle with things like that.  I want to encourage him to do the best he can, and work hard at things.  I want him to love what he is doing so much that he can’t wait to do it again.  I also want him to slow down a bit, and learn to be patient.  I just don’t know how to do it without crushing his spirit or who he is.  That is the last thing that I want to do.  I just wish I knew how.  Or if I even should.  I mean, who could resist this kid?

Have you ever dealt with an overly spirited kid?  Do you have any words of wisdom for me?

This entry was posted in blogging, family, kids, rambles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slowing down the crazy kid

  1. I wrote a post last week about my toddler who seems to be the opposite of your son. He’s the one who holds back, who watches, who doesn’t want to be part of the group, who takes his time with anything new.

    My advice would be the same – let your 3 year old be. Allow him to march to his own beat and grow into his own. You’ll both be happier for it 🙂

  2. I often describe my boys (ages 6 and 7) as “high-energy” boys. Sounds like your son is similar. But as long as my little men aren’t behaving inappropriately or bugging anyone in public I let them be their spirited selves 🙂
    Great to find you via Bruna’s blog and congrats on your #LetsBEEfriends day!
    ~ Jennifer from http://www.take2mommy.com

    • onecrazykid says:

      It’s always so comforting to hear of people who have other “high energy” little boys. It makes me feel good to know that I’m not alone. 😉 Sounds like you take the same sort of approach that we do. He is a very well behaved boy, and people are always telling us that. He’s just busy. It’s part of what makes him so fun too, though, and I have to remember to keep that in mind.
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

