Sometimes it’s the little things

Sometimes, the littlest things can have the biggest impact.  Let me tell you a story.

A couple of nights ago, Q -man and I were at home.  I had just come down with some child-induced cold or plauge or something, and was feeling totally yucky.  I had a nose that wouldn’t stop running, a cough, and my body ached like I had been beaten by a bunch of people with bats in my sleep.  In short, I was feeling miserable.

I had been blowing my nose so much that I had gone through a box of Kleenex already, and thought that we didn’t have any in the house.  I was feeling far too yucky to drag my sorry self out to the drug store to get more.  At that point in the night, I cared so little that I switched to paper towels.  As I sat on the couch feeling sorry for myself and watching yet another video with the Q-man, I sneezed, looked around, and saw nothing to clean myself up with. “How lovely”, I thought to myself.  I asked Q to go and grab me a paper towel from the kitchen.

Off he went, and although I could hear some shuffling around in the kitchen, I just figured he was trying to rip a towel off the roll.  After a couple of minutes, I should have gotten suspicious, but in my cold-induced haze, I didn’t really think anything of it.  Q returned to the living room, with some ruffling paper noises accompanying him.  He said “I can’t get it open!”. “Oh no!” I thought, wondering what he had gotten himself into this time.  I looked over to him, and saw him holding a box of Kleenex. Brand new.  He handed it to me, and said “For you Mummy.”

I nearly cried.  That one little gesture meant so much to me, much more than his 3 year old self could understand at the time.  I was so proud of him at that moment.  Somehow he knew that Kleenex would be way nicer for me than a paper towel would be, and so he went looking and found it.

I love that kid.

This entry was posted in family, kids, rambles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes it’s the little things

  1. Stasha says:

    Oh, I am melting. Such a sweetie!!!

  2. Christine says:

    That is so sweet!! Awwwww!

    P.S. Had a blast chatting with you and Carol on Twitter! xo

Leave a Reply

